NaNoWriMo Organization Preparation Central

Organization and/or preparation is probably one of the first steps to the chance at winning NaNoWriMo. And for those of you who’ve won before without needing to prepare, organize, whatever, congratulations. But for those of you who are either looking for organization and/or prep help or you’re just simply browsing the web looking to study how others organize and/or prep for NaNoWriMo, I’m here to share with you how I do it.

  1. Moleskine Journal: Or any regular journal or notebook that suits your needs. For me, I need something small and trusted that I can take out with me and keep in my purse. In this I literally write everything down in about my novel I have planned from plot points to character sketches to ideas, inspiration, world building. This is what I’m doing for this year’s NaNoWriMo.
  2. Spreadsheet Outline: I use LibreOffice (since I think it works just as well as any other word program and I’m too poor for that mainstream bullshit) but anywho, it’s something that helps me organize scenes for my novel. Here’s how I organize mine (click for fullview):
    spreadsheet exmpl
  3. Classic Binder: This is always the ulitmate solution to organization problems. Something you can write in, add in worksheets, even something big enough for mood boards!
  4. File Folders: Simple and organized, not bulky like a binder. You can organize to your wish anywhere from characters, world building, scenes/drabbles, etc.
  5. Laptop: Most people resort to this, and at one point it’s what I did. Especially back when I wrote fanfiction. Ideas of organization on it are limitless from simple folders to programs, etc.
  6. Five Star Flex: This is something that I absolutely love to use for organization and used before I moved over to using a Moleskine. I’ve used Five Star Flexes since high school and stand strong behind them. You can fit a lot of pages into it, and the best part is you can flip it over and write in it as if it were a notebook – no bulky binder rings in the way of writing on the opposite side of a paper.
Leave a Reply

