NaNoWriMo: Update, Silly Thoughts, and Plot Worries

Last night I had set a goal to get up to 15k words. Luckily, I had made it to at least 14.4k words, which to me, feels absolutely great! Only thing about it that doesn’t feel great was how I even got there.

I’m starting to drag with these chapters and to just write random scenes that are playing around in my head. I mean, I guess it’s better than nothing, but still, it doesn’t feel as productive as it should.

I guess what I should have done initially is edit and add onto the first draft for NaNo instead of attempting to completely rewrite it. I know in the first draft, it was originally in first person POV and then there were things that needed more explaining, description, and more scenes to fill up some odd plot holes. I guess that could have been easier.

Still, it feels far too late into NaNoWriMo to even go back and just do that.

At this point, I won’t be upset if I don’t make it to 50k words. If anything, I might make it to 50k, but I have a feeling that by December 1st, I’ll still have so many chapters I’d want to write. After all, the story is being split up into 3 parts, probably around 25k words each.

Even with this draft, I’m pulling my hair over parts of the stories I need to figure out how to write differently, explain better. Like how the hell can I write these two characters hating each other the way I want them to hate each other? Or how can I pull off a love triangle without letting my guilt towards my main character ruin my writing?

I know the point of NaNoWriMo is to write, write, write, and to worry about correcting things afterwards, but I’m way too OCD to allow myself that comfort.

Tonight before bed, since I’m struggling with chapter 8, I’m going to just begin to copy and paste from draft #1 and I’ll edit and add onto. Hoping to get up to 16k words before bed.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

