2016 Camp NaNoWriMo’s Project: The Journey Chapter 1

I’m not publishing this post/series to brag or be vain, or whatever. I’m publishing this for something more of a personal use. Something I can look back on later in the writing process of my novel. Like a little remembrance of some sort.

Forgiven_02_banner
Created by Planton Tz on NaNoWriMo in November of 2015.

Chapter One: Overview

In about the seventh grade, when I first watched Ghost Rider and laid eyes on Blackheart  played by Wes Bentley, the idea for the novel had first come to mind. A soul eater who falls for a human woman. At first, its name was Flashlight and looking at the very first draft of it (yes, I still have it), I can’t help but laugh. It’s amazing how far I’ve come with my writing. My main character’s name at the time was Novena and the villain (and her lover), Dark Heart.

Moving on a few years later, I rewrote it into a paranormal high school romance to test
out the waters of a different approach. And sadly enough, I still have the draft for that one as well. To modernize Dark Heart’s name to fit the story, I changed it to Drew Heart. When I finished it, I had put it aside to collect dust.

It wasn’t until high school when I started taking Creative Writing classes with a very beloved teacher that I began playing with old ideas of my novel. It was all I could think about. And then when I started watching Teen Wolf, I got new inspiration and the urge to give it one more shot. Crystal Reed, playing Allison Argent, gave me the face of Novena in my mind and I had to write again. Renamed it as Addison’s Run, and with the help of a close writing friend, the story was completely rewritten into paranormal romance apart of the new genre at the time called New Adult. Novena’s name then changed to Addison, which honestly fit her personality all the more.

addison_and_drew_nanorequest_by_residentbrain-d871dpe
Created by Planton Tz on NaNoWriMo in November of 2015.

A few months later, on a whim, I entered into my very first NaNoWriMo contest, it then got renamed to Blight. I hadn’t even expected to write 50k words in one single month. I had never done that in my life before, never been under that much pressure in all of my years of public schooling. And of course, as my first draft of a brand new perspective of my novel, it showed. Rushed ending, rushed scenes, unanswered questions — what mattered to me most at the time was the romance, getting out all my ideas for the story out on paper whether I’d worry about correcting it or changing it later or not.

The year after that I tried for a second, more perfected draft and soon change the title of the novel again to Forgiven. Although I didn’t win that NaNoWriMo, it still helped me out quite a bit with all the new aspects of the novel. And now this year, as part of the Camp NaNoWriMo, Forgiven is my project. Splitting it into two parts, one for each Camp NaNoWriMo writing session, Forgiven is currently at its best and with focus, I’m sure it will continue getting better and better.

Collage
From Left to Right, Covers By: 1st & 2nd – Me, 3rd & 4th – Planton Tz from NaNoWriMo, and then 5th – OasisScribbler from NaNoWriMo.

With so many novels out about zombies, vampires, and werewolves, I wanted to do something a little different with an idea of a type of demon called Soul Eater, my very own version. I wanted to try and take a non-cliche paranormal approach, regardless of the cliche love/hate romance that it would include.

34s2cua
Addison and Drew drawn by a friend on Menewsha. Artist’s name has been lost.

Inspiration was the main focus of Forgiven. From a a Marvel villain to a simple romance scene, my novel is built on ideas I’ve created from watching and reading. What’s even helped me is commissioning artists to create covers and draw my characters on NaNoWriMo when they’ve offered. I feel so honored.

Coming up next will be various other chapters on the journey such as going into depth about what has all inspired me to even going into depth about each individual important character.

Leave a Reply

