NaNoWriM0 2k16 Update #2: Change

Sitting at 8,286 words on day #8 of NaNoWriMo when I should be at 13,333 words…I’m not feeling too great about myself. I tried all I could to get myself going to write more and mgiphy7ore of Aerials, but found myself just angry with myself for jumping into such a random story idea with a genre I wasn’t comfortable with. I thought I could push myself to finish this novel. I thought I could try out and test the waters of a genre I’ve never written before. The more negative I feel about all of this, the more angrier I get with myself, and that’s not something I’d like to feel for the rest of this month. I don’t wanna make myself stressed over something that’s not important to me nor my life. You get what I’m saying?

So here it comes: change.

Yes, change. As in change-in-my-NaNoWriMo-subject, and change-in-my-novel-for-NaNoWriMo.

After having a crazy, random dream last night, a friend gave me the idea of flash fiction. So scrapping Aerials, I’m going to be doing a Flash Fiction series for all of my crazy dreams and my plot ideas. It might not all be just flash fiction. Some of it will be 2k+ word scenes and whatnot.

Will this get me to 50k words? Probably not. But it’s what I know I can write without a problem, it’s what I’m comfortable with. And most importantly, it’s something I’ve been thinking about doing for months (but haven’t realized until today). I have a blank notebook with my name on it on my bookshelf.

I know I can do this.

Now I’m just going to leave this gif here because it’s how I feel.

source

Leave a Reply

